Jonah Bokaer Arts Foundation
Bushwick Branch:
304 Boerum Street #23
Brooklyn, NY 11206

Event Capacity: 75 people
Venue Dimensions: 25′ x 48′

Please contact our Venue Manager about nonprofit rental rates for classes, informal showings, film shoots, photo shoots, other studio uses at:
[email protected]


Jonah Bokaer Arts Foundation’s First Affordable Artspace (2002) remains consistently, sustainably dedicated to supporting the local community through highly subsidized rehearsal rentals starting at $8/hour made possible by generous funding from:

– Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (Program Discontinued)
– Ford Foundation
– New York State Council for the Arts
– Department of Cultural Affairs (DCA) Cultural Development Fund

Jonah Bokaer Arts Foundation Artist-In-Residence

15 Artists are offered 14-week residencies dedicated to fostering the creation, development, and performance of new work by both emerging and mid-career choreographers. Our organization, with peer panel selection, will provide 5 artists up to 100 hours of rehearsal space during off-peak hours 7-11am and 7pm-12am, monthly peer forums, feedback, and a presentation of the new work developed during the residency. This new work may be presented in any form, at any stage of progress at the final showing.

Annual Artists-In-Residence are curated through an open application process, and final selections are chosen by an independent panel of industry professionals. Applications will be assessed based on existing exposure of the artist, the quality of the application, the work sample and the project proposed.


Past Artists-In-Residence, 2002-Present

Lauren Bakst, Amanda Hunt, IV Castellanos, Tingying Ma, Ashley R. T. Yergens, Catherine Galasso, Dana Katz, LJ Leach, Alessia Lovreglio, Mari Meade Montoya, Mina Nishimura, Goldie Peacock, Nadia Tykulsker, Mariana Valencia, Katie Workum, Effie Bowen, Kelly Buwalda, Marc Crousillat, Gabrielle D’Angelo, Elisabeth Motley, Nicole Roerick, Danielle Russo, Stuart Shugg, Samuel Swanton, Eli Tamondong, Connor Voss, Nicole Wolcott, Mei Yamanaka, Evvie Allison, Sarah Lifson, Judith Locovozzi, Alex Romania, Laurel Atwell, Zavé Martohardjono, Lily Shapiro, Alina Folini, Emma Geisdorf, Chris Devita, Justin Cabrillos, Millie Kapp, Johnnie Mercer, Kate Watson-Wallace, Lisa Fagan, Karolina Kraczkowska, Doug LeCours, Gabrielle Revlock, Tara Willis, Anthony Rosado, Lorene Bouboushian, Stormy Budwig, Leslie Cuyjet, Nora Stephens, J. Bouey, Elena Light + Henry Holmes, Itamar Segev, Kwok Verrill, Amelia Heintzelman, Aleixa Freire, Quamaine Daniels, Shantelle Jackson, BREAKTIME Duo: Holly Sass, Jonathan Matthews, Hyung Seok Jeon, Jacqueline Bulnes,
Coleman Collective, Kathleen Kelley, Tori Lawrence, James Koroni.